Previous Heads of Department of Community Health

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

Dr. Dismas Ongore

Director: October 2010 - September 2016

Chairman: February 2010 - October 2010

The current Director of the School. He is a Public Health Physician with interests in Malaria. He succesfully initiated the launch of the School of Public Health in February 2011.

Read More.....

Prof. Mutuku A. Mwanthi

2004 - 2010

Currently Thematic Head, Disease Prevention, Control and Health Promotion. Read More....

Prof. Violet Kimani

2001 - 2004

Currently she heads the School of Public Health  Academic Committee. Read More....

Prof. Joseph Wangombe

1993 - 2000

Currently a full professor at the School of Public Health health. Has published authoritative books on Health Economics. With GTZ was able to expand DCH infrastructure though Community Health Project (CHP) project. Read More....

Prof. Elisha K. Muchunga

1987 - 1993

Currently a professor of demography. Read More....

Dr. James Gekonyo

1986 - 1987

Dr. Gekonyo steered the department trough some difficult times. He was instrumental in increasing staff capacity considerably. Read More...

Prof. Mirriam Were

1982 - 1985

Currently retired. Read More....

Prof. James Kagia

1979 - 1981

The first indigenous proffessor of community health in the department. Read More....

Prof. John F. Bennet

1975 - 1978

Editor of "Community Diagnosis and Health Action a leading publication that came out of the Department of Community Health" Left te department end of March 1979. Read More....


Dr. L. C. Vogel

1973 - 1975

Professor of Community Health and Epidemiologist Medical Research Centre Nairobi. Was editor of "Health and Disease in Kenya" which has remained a landmark publication on selected epidemiological information in Kenya.


Prof. Frank F. Schofield

1967 - 1972

He was a world health organization professor seconded to the school of medicine and community health department. He was instrumental in infrastructure development and staff training using World Health Organization scholarships





UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2019. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi