Message from Chairperson


Dr Rose Okoyo Opiyo, B.Ed., M.Sc. , PhD,  Public Health Nutrition (University of Nairobi)














Dr Rose Okoyo Opiyo, B.Ed., M.Sc. , PhD,  Public Health Nutrition (University of Nairobi)

Welcome to the Department of Public Health, University of Nairobi website.

The Department is one of the four constituent departments of the Faculty of Health Sciences. It is located within the Faculty of Health Sciences complex at Kenyatta National Hospital in the capital city, Nairobi.  The Department has a mandate to address emerging public health challenges, meet the high demand for training on public health issues, and contribute to public health research and community health development.

The Department is currently structured into four thematic areas headed by thematic heads.  The thematic areas are as follows:

1. Epidemiology and biostatistics

2. Health care systems and policy development

3. Disease prevention, control and health promotion

4. Community health sciences

The Department currently has on board multidisciplinary academic staff drawn from a wide range of public health specializations. These include: clinical sciences, behavioral sciences, public health nutrition, health economics and policy development, health systems management, environmental and occupational health, demography and population studies, epidemiology and biostatistics, among others. The Department is currently involved in the training of undergraduate medical students (MBChB) in Community Health Courses through the Clerkship in Community Health. The Department continues to offer the Master of Public Health (MPH) programme which was established in 1984.

The Department also has a PhD programme that continues to be offered by thesis. The Department continues to explore the possibility of including taught causes in research methodology and biostatistics to enhance proposal development and research.