Brief History

The Department of Public Health was formally established in September, 2010. Four Thematic Heads were appointed in October, 2020 and the Department was officially launched on 22nd February, 2011 by the Vice-Chancellor. Previous heads of the Department are Dr. Dismas Ongore (2010-2016) and Prof. Mutuku A. Mwanthi (2016-2020), Professor Joyce M. Olenja (March 2020-Feb.2023). The current head is Dr. Rose O. Opiyo (w.e.f. March, 2023).

The Department is made up of the following four Thematic Units which are mandated to develop and offer courses as follows:

1. Epidemiology and Biostatistics Unit

i) Epidemiology

ii) Biostatistics and Computing

iii) Population Sciences

iv) Research Methods and Methodology

2. Health Care System and Policy Development Unit

i) Health Planning and Policy Development

ii) Health Services Administration & Evaluation

iii) Primary Health Care

iv) Health Economics

3. Disease Prevention, Control & Health Promotion Unit

i) Communicable and Non-Communicable Disease Prevention and Control

ii) Family Health

iii) Nutrition

iv) Environmental Health

v) Occupational and Industrial Health and Safety

4. Community Health Sciences Unit

i) Social Sciences and Health

ii) Health Promotion and Communication

The Department teaches both undergraduate Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBChB), Bachelor of Science in Medical Laboratory Sciences (BSc. MLST), Master of Public Health (MPH), and PhD in Public Health.